Charged With A DUI or DWI? Call A DWI Lawyer Who Can Help!
If you’re facing a DWI charge in El Paso, then you need legal representation as soon as possible. The Law Offices of Luis Yañez will offer help as your DWI lawyers, no matter your DWI or guide you through the process. If you’re unsure about how to proceed, then simply give us a call to schedule your free initial consultation. We’re ready to help!
Facing A DWI Charge: What You Should Know
Texas takes DWI charges very seriously, which is why you need an excellent DWI lawyer to help you through the process. It doesn’t matter if it’s your first DWI offense, the financial and court procedures are intense, and you will be treated and prosecuted as a criminal. But you’re not alone. As your DWI lawyers, we will stand by your side and guide you through the legal process.
Texas DWI & DUI Laws
DWI stands for “driving while intoxicated,” while DUI stands for “driving under the influence,” but both phrases are interchangeable. In the state of Texas, if a person has been stopped with a .08 BAC (blood or breath alcohol concentration) or more, they will be charged with a DWI. This could also mean being intoxicated by other drugs or alcohol as well.
Texas also has a zero-tolerance law making it illegal for anyone under the age of 21 to get behind a motor vehicle with any detectable amount of alcohol in their system. Texas also recognizes that you do not have to be driving a vehicle to be charged, but by using the term “operate,” they include any functioning of a vehicle.
Types of Penalties
You could face a number of penalties for your DWI. Depending on what offense, these are what you could be facing once charged:
- First offense DWI charges are a Class B misdemeanor, which means you could be looking at a fine of up to $2,000 along with up to 180 days in jail.
- Second offense DWI charges this goes to a Class A misdemeanor with double the penalties, meaning you could face up to a year in jail and $4,000 in fines. This will also include a suspended license for two years and an annual fee for up to three years.
- The third offense could change the situation to a Third Degree Felony, and you could face up to $10,000 in fines and prison time for 2-10 years. This could also mean a suspended license for two years and an annual fee for up to three years.
In total, you may face the following:
- Suspended license
- High court costs
- Lawyer fees
- Jail time
- Community service
- Education programs
- Higher rates for insurance
What Must Be Proven To Be Charged With A DWI
Proving the BAC or impairment are the two charges prosecutors will look for in a DWI. If the BAC was .08% or more or if the operator of the vehicle was clearly impaired by drugs or alcohol. There must be evidence beyond a reasonable doubt that the person charged was above the limit or impaired.
What To Do After You Get A DWI Charge
The overall consequences of a DWI are severe, and without a proper lawyer, you could face the highest consequences. You should contact our offices right away as soon as you’ve been arrested or charged with a DWI.
Benefits of Choosing Our Professional Lawyers
As experienced DWI lawyers, we know everything about these situations, and our team can guide you through the process in the best way possible. We’re excellent at negotiations, getting the proper court proceedings, and obtaining you the minimum penalties depending on your criminal history.
Don’t Wait, Call Us Today
If you have been charged with a DWI, don’t wait. Call us now. DWIs are a long process with a lot on the line, so get a lawyer with experience and knowledge of this system. Contact us today to schedule your consultation.